Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Dawn, pastel, 2012 by Diana Hale

Here I go again – setting myself up in competition. Last time I was competing with Monet now I have taken on Nature herself! There is something so irresistible about the dawn when Nature is pulling out all the stops. At this time of year the light effects can be spectacular and it does not involve getting up in the middle of the night to see them. Why do we always want to try and capture those fleeting moments? Is it just to prolong the moment and fix the memory or does it bring out the urge to create ourselves?

Speed is everything and so photography wins there. Pastel can be a way of putting something on paper at speed too though. At least an impression (back to Monet again) is possible.

Dawn, photograph, 2012 by Diana Hale

Dawn, photograph, 2012 by Diana Hale

Another day, another dawn, a different vision. More subdued, subtler, still changing moment by moment. Sometimes there is more colour before the sun comes up, sometimes not.

Dawn, pastel, 2012 by Diana Hale

Dawn, photograph, 2012 by Diana Hale

Dawn, photograph, 2012 by Diana Hale

Sometimes a photograph becomes almost a painting, more Rothko than Monet this time.

Dawn, photograph, 2012 by Diana Hale

Dawn, photograph, 2012 by Diana Hale

Same place, so many images. I will always be fighting against Nature but I don’t mind if I lose, at least I have tried and satisfied that creative urge.

