Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“As summer neared, as the evenings lengthened, there came to the wakeful, the hopeful, walking the beach, stirring the pool, imaginations of the strangest kind – of flesh turned to atoms which drove before the wind, of stars flashing in their hearts, of cliff, sea, cloud and sky brought purposely together to assemble outwardly the scattered parts of the vision within.”

from ‘To the Lighthouse’ by Virginia Woolf

Coming out of hibernation with the sudden arrival of Spring a change of mood is apparent. Early awakenings with the dawn chorus, a brilliantly programmed free concert at St Giles’ Cripplegate Church last Wednesday of music by American 20th century composers and the BBC’s Music Nation events this weekend http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio3/musicnation.shtml suggest some musical inspiration is required.

To find some appropriate music to accompany my creative outpourings I first search my CD collection (then listen on my Walkman while doing the ironing – I am a bit retro). I find as a start ‘Water Girl’ by Zakir Hussain on Making Music. As it is on the ECM label I look it up on the ever inspiring blog between sound and space and find a review: “Chaurasia is the jewel of this session. His dialogues with McLaughlin (“Zakir” and “Sabah”) in particular reveal a purity of tone all his own. Sometimes, he lowers the threads from which the music hangs, pulling us along with them into a verdant sky. Others, he bends like an outstretched leaf hit by the first raindrop of spring (“Toni”). The album’s remainder is filled with rainbows. The most verdant of these is “Water Girl,” a mosaic spread with saffron and rosewater, willed into life by that generative flute.” (making-music)

This has turned out to be even more watery and spring like than I imagined and I forget about doing anything other than listening to the music! However if anyone has any suggestions for some more (preferably not too obvious) watery music please let me know and I will compile a playlist for myself and anyone else interested.

