Tags

, ,

It is always encouraging to find there are people out there who actually look at what I put out into the ether of the internet. One of the joys of blogging is making connections in the most unexpected places across the world (rather like a modern version of childhood pen pals I sometimes think). The blogging community in general is very supportive or maybe I’ve been lucky! This is my opportunity to say thank you to all my followers and those who take a look. It is also an excuse for some flowers.

It also seems to be the season for awards in America, not quite the Oscars but it must rate somewhere on the scale!

So thanks to the lovely Steven of Steven Tze Photography who creates beautiful images in the Sierra Foothills in California, for awarding me the Awesome Blog Content (ABC) Award, which has some rather lengthy requirements.

The rules of the Awesome Blog Content Award:

1.  Thank the person who gave you the award.

2.  Nominate others to receive the award for their own awesome blog content, and notify them of their nomination.

3.  Use the ABCs to describe something about yourself or your philosophy in a word, a sentence or a short paragraph.

My ABC in a large nutshell

Art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, Arctic, Antarctic – why do so many of my favourite things begin with A?

Birdwatching – an excuse to be outside

Connections, coincidences, covergences – fascinate me

Dusk – magical time of day

Essex – I am an Essex girl when I want to be (where I was born was sometimes Essex and sometimes London)!

Finland – has special memories

Gardens – the quickest way to be outside

Heritage – has always meant a lot to me personally and professionally

Ice, Inuit – more obsessions

Journeys – especially by train

Kew Gardens – different every time I go (which is quite a lot)

Landscape, libraries, lime blossom – more of my favourite things

Music – part of my everyday life

Nature, Nordic, North – yet more obsessions

Owls – the most enigmatic of birds

Poetry – blogging has brought me back to it

Questions – I love finding the answers

Rivers, reflections – go together

Sea, shore, silence – preferably all three together (although obviously the sea is never silent!)

Thames – have spent a lot of my life by it

Underwater – to look at rather than be in

Van Morrison – earliest adolescent musical obsession (with my cataloguing background I know he should be under M but hey ‘Van the Man’)

Wales, whales, water  – emotional attachments

Xylophone – played on a large wooden one on Hackney Marshes as part of a sound project once and the experience has stayed with me

Yesterday – the source of memories

Zen – the nearest I get to religion

I have just selected a few of the more recent bloggers whose blogs I enjoy and would like to nominate for the award! (apologies for any who would rather remain anonymous or who have already been heaped with awards and please do not feel obligated to participate.)

Whistlesinthewind – insights into youthful nostalgia via cultural objects and places

thegreenmanweblog – green thoughts from a green spirit

The Lantern Room – natural photography

Secondly I have been nominated for the Very Inspiring Blog Award by Lois, from Chicago, with Irish connections. She has two blogs, one of visual thoughts and memories  A Trace of Place, and one of written insights into Irish history and places therootsystems, which complement each other beautifully.

As my nominees for this award (with the same disclaimer as above!) I suggest the following :

East of Elveden – Norwich and way beyond, intriguing places

The Londonphile – less obvious places and things in London

greenbenchramblings – ramblings about and around gardens and allotments

I hope there will be something for everyone here!

