Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSC02128

The force that through the green fuse drives the flower

Drives my green age; that blasts the roots of trees

Is my destroyer.

(From The Force That Through the Green Fuse Drives the Flower by Dylan Thomas)

Painting by Ceri Richards illustrating the poem

The photograph at the top of the page and those in this gallery are of the bird cherry, a native tree in the north of England and Scotland which has been planted in the south, particularly in parks. These bucolic looking examples are in London, adjacent to the Northern Line of the Underground, in the appropriately named Cherry Tree Woods.

Another specimen I found in Waterlow Park inspired me to do a series of sketches investigating it in different ways. These were done in summer rather than spring. How will it seem this year? Shall I go back or move on?